Home State TMC MLA Dipak Haldar resigns from party ahead of West Bengal Assembly...

TMC MLA Dipak Haldar resigns from party ahead of West Bengal Assembly election 2021


In yet one more blow to the Trinamool Congress, TMC MLA Dipak Haldar on Monday resigned from the occasion. Amid ongoing exodus from TMC, forward of the West Bengal Assembly election, two-time MLA from Diamond Harbor Haldar introduced his determination.

Earlier, he lashed out on the occasion management for not permitting him to work for the lots and stated he would give up the occasion quickly, fueling speculations of his potential switchover to the BJP. Haldar, nevertheless, remained tight-lipped on becoming a member of the saffron camp.

“I am a two-time MLA. But, since 2017, I am not allowed to work properly for the masses. Despite informing the leadership, no action was taken to improve the situation. I am not informed about any party program. I am answerable to the people of my constituency and supporters. So I have decided to quit the party. I will send my resignation to the district and state president soon, “he stated.

For the previous few months, Haldar has been talking towards the occasion management. Haldar, thought of to be a detailed affiliate of BJP chief Sovan Chatterjee, since his days within the TMC, lately met the latter at his residence in South Kolkata. The TMC management declined to touch upon the matter.

In 2015, Haldar was suspended from the occasion after he was arrested for his alleged involvement in a conflict between rival factions of the occasion’s college students’ entrance in a district’s school. Later he was out on bail and was reinstated within the occasion.

Since the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, when the BJP bagged 18 seats, simply 4 lower than the ruling TMC and emerged as its foremost challenger in Bengal, 17 MLAs of the Trinamool Congress, one TMC MP, three belonging to the Congress the CPI (M ) every and one from CPI have crossed over to the saffron camp. However, apart from the previous state cupboard ministers Suvendu Adhikari and Rajib Banerjee, none of them resigned as MLAs.

Elections to the 294-member West Bengal meeting are prone to be held in April-May 2021.

with further inputs from information company PTI

Read Full Article